Is a Data Center Coming

Georgia

Data centers in Walton County

We track 2 projects inside Walton County and 7 more within 25 miles of it. For a distance-specific answer, check your own address.

In Walton County

Under construction MW not reported Social Circle

Meta has operated a data center on the Walton County side of its Stanton Springs campus, at 240 Shire Parkway in Social Circle, since breaking ground in 2018 and opening in 2020. Walton Electric Membership Corporation partnered with Meta to supply the campus with solar and other renewable energy. Meta has continued expanding the overall Stanton Springs campus with additional AI focused data center buildings in the years since, though a precise recent count of buildings, acreage, or megawatts specific to the Walton County parcels could not be confirmed from public reporting available for this entry.

Approved MW not reported Social Circle

Sailfish Investors is developing a four building, 1.78 million square foot data center campus on 344 acres along Social Circle Parkway in Walton County. Walton County commissioners unanimously approved annexation of the site into the City of Social Circle in December 2024, and the Social Circle City Council approved annexation, rezoning, and special use permit requests in January 2025. The project targets completion around January 2027.

Within 25 miles of Walton County

Power bills in Walton County

Most of the county is served by Walton EMC, with parts on Snapping Shoals EMC or Georgia Power or Monroe municipal (city owned). The city of Monroe, the county seat, has its own municipal electric utility. As a cooperative, its wholesale power comes mostly from Oglethorpe Power.

Oglethorpe Power, which generates most of the electricity Georgia's EMCs sell, is adding natural gas plants it ties to data center and industrial load. EMC rates are set by each cooperative's board, not the Public Service Commission, so watch your EMC's rate notices.

Oglethorpe Power is the wholesale generation and transmission cooperative owned by Georgia's 38 electric membership cooperatives, and it is not directly rate regulated by the Georgia Public Service Commission the way Georgia Power is, so there is no PSC docket number for its generation projects. Oglethorpe Power broke ground on May 7, 2026 on a two unit, roughly 1,425 megawatt, 3.3 billion dollar combined cycle gas plant next to its existing Smarr Energy Facility in Monroe County, targeting commercial operation around 2029 to serve 29 of its 38 member cooperatives, plus a smaller gas addition planned at the Talbot Energy Facility for 2028. No specific verified dollar impact on individual electric membership cooperative household bills has been published yet, since those retail rates are set separately by each member cooperative.

Every Georgia rate case in dollars a month, with hearing dates: willmybillgoup.com, our rate case tracker.

Alerts for Walton County

An email when a filing, hearing, or status changes within 25 miles of the county seat. For a tighter radius, check your own address and subscribe there.

Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.

Want this worked out for one address? The address report covers noise, water, your power bill, and what is being planned nearby. See the address report.