Added as filed
RB Inyokern Data Center
R&L Capital. Filed. 99 MW.
R&L Capital wants to build a 238,000 square foot data center near the intersection of Highway 395 and Highway 178 in Inyokern, an unincorporated part of Kern County. The first phase would draw 60 megawatts of a planned 99 megawatt total, using a mix of liquid and air cooling across six data halls with an onsite substation. The proposal drew formal opposition from the Eastern Kern County Resource Conservation District, the city of Ridgecrest, China Lake Naval Air Weapons Station, and the local school district, mainly over an estimated 12 to 16 million gallons of water use per year.
Follow this project
One email when RB Inyokern Data Center changes status or a new filing lands within 25 miles of it.
Renews yearly until you cancel. Cancel any time from any email. We do not sell the list.
Buying or living near this site? Get an address report.
- Status
- Filed
- Operator
- Not disclosed
- Applicant on record
- R&L Capital
- Location
- Inyokern, Kern County, CA (approximate, city center)
- Size
- 99 MW, 238,000 sq ft
- Cooling
- Not reported
- Utility
- Not reported
- First reported
- 2026-05
- Last updated
- September 24, 2026
What happens next
Still to come: public hearings, a rezoning or permit vote, and a utility interconnection agreement.
Sources
- 99MW data center proposed in Kern County, California, Data Center Dynamics
- Proposed Inyokern data center could use 12 to 16 million gallons of water annually, KGET 17 News
- RB Inyokern Data Center, California Energy Commission
What it would mean nearby
The cooling design has not been reported. If it uses evaporative cooling, a 99 MW facility would draw roughly 314,000 to 1.1 million gallons of water a day, about what 3,600 households use.
For how far this is from your own address, check it here. For a noise, water, and power bill estimate for one address, see the address report.
History
Common questions
Where is the RB Inyokern data center?
It is in Inyokern, Kern County, CA.
Has the RB Inyokern data center been approved?
Not yet. An application has been filed and has not been decided.
How big is the RB Inyokern data center?
Reported size: 99 MW, 238,000 square feet.
Is it near you?
Corrections and tips: use the address in the footer. We link every claim to its source.