Is a Data Center Coming

Pike County, OH

PORTS-Pike Technology Campus

SB Energy. Approved, 800 MW

SB Energy, a SoftBank Group subsidiary, is building an AI data center campus of up to 10 gigawatts on and around the decommissioned Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant, a former uranium enrichment site near Piketon in Pike County, on federal land involving the US Department of Energy and Department of Commerce. OpenAI announced on August 17-18, 2026 that it will lease most of the campus as a 20 year anchor tenant, with roughly 8 gigawatts allocated to OpenAI, while NVIDIA is the exclusive AI compute infrastructure partner. A groundbreaking for an associated 9.2 gigawatt natural gas power facility was held March 20, 2026, and construction of the first 800 megawatt data center phase is set to begin in 2026 with capacity coming online starting 2028.

How far is it from you?

Free. Every site we track within 25 miles of your address, nearest first, with how far each one is.

Status
Approved
Operator
SB Energy
Applicant on record
SB Energy
Location
Former Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant site, Piketon, Pike County, OH (approximate, city center)
Size
800 MW
Cooling
Not reported
Utility
Not reported
First reported
2026-08
Last updated
September 2, 2026

What happens next

Still to come: permits and construction. Builders do not always announce a construction start date in advance.

Sources

What it would mean nearby

The cooling design has not been reported. If it uses evaporative cooling, a 800 MW facility would draw roughly 2.5 million to 9.1 million gallons of water a day, about what 29,200 households use.

For how far this is from your own address, check it here. For what this site could mean for one street address, see the address report, $19.

Other tracked projects within 25 miles

Common questions

Where is the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus data center?

It is in Piketon, Pike County, OH.

Has the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus data center been approved?

Yes, it has been approved.

How big is the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus data center?

Reported size: 800 MW.

Corrections and tips: use the address in the footer. We link every claim to its source.