Bridgefield Tech Center
Amazon Data Services. Filed
Amazon filed a by-right site plan on July 28, 2026 for four two-story data center buildings totaling more than 800,000 square feet on the former George Washington University Virginia Science and Technology Campus in Ashburn, which Amazon bought for 427 million dollars in March 2026. Because the filing is on the administrative, by-right track, it does not require a Planning Commission or Board of Supervisors vote, which has drawn opposition from Loudoun Supervisor Juli Briskman and local residents, including George Washington University students, who are organizing to force public review. This is a distinct site from the existing tracked Spring Valley Tech Park on Evergreen Mill Road.
How far is it from you?
Free. Every site we track within 25 miles of your address, nearest first, with how far each one is.
Follow this project
One free email when Bridgefield Tech Center changes status, a hearing is scheduled, or a comment deadline opens.
Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.
Buying or living near this site? Get the address report for $19.
- Status
- Filed
- Operator
- Amazon Data Services
- Applicant on record
- Amazon Data Services
- Location
- Former GW Virginia Science and Technology Campus, near George Washington Boulevard, University Drive and Presidential Drive, Ashburn, Loudoun County, VA (approximate, city center)
- Size
- MW not reported, 122 acres, 805,092 sq ft
- Cooling
- Not reported
- Utility
- Dominion Energy
- First reported
- 2026-07
- Last updated
- September 2, 2026
What happens next
Still to come: public hearings, a rezoning or permit vote, and a utility interconnection agreement.
Sources
- Amazon proposes 4 data centers on GWU's Loudoun campus, Loudoun Times-Mirror, 2026-07-30
- Amazon data center campus plan for Ashburn hits Loudoun opposition, Virginia Business, 2026-08
- Concrete jungle: As Amazon details plans for new Ashburn data centers, some residents are fed up, WTOP News, 2026-08
- Students join local push to block Amazon's data center in Loudoun County, The GW Hatchet, 2026-08-31
What it would mean nearby
Deferred fuel cost recovery (docket PUR-2026-00078) adds about $10.23 a month to a typical bill, decided September 29, 2026. Data center cost allocation and transmission rider (docket PUR-2026-00056) adds about $0.94 a month to a typical bill, decided August 1, 2026. 2025 biennial review base rate increase (docket PUR-2025-00058) adds about $11.24 a month to a typical bill from January 2026.
For how far this is from your own address, check it here. For what this site could mean for one street address, see the address report, $19.
Other tracked projects within 25 miles
Common questions
Where is the Bridgefield Tech Center data center?
It is in Ashburn, Loudoun County, VA.
Has the Bridgefield Tech Center data center been approved?
Not yet. An application has been filed and has not been decided.
How big is the Bridgefield Tech Center data center?
Reported size: 122 acres, 805,092 square feet.
Corrections and tips: use the address in the footer. We link every claim to its source.