Project Cornmaze Data Center (Towns of Beloit and Turtle)
Panattoni Data Centers. Filed
A data center code named Project Cornmaze is proposed across more than 430 acres in the Towns of Beloit and Turtle, first pursued under a predevelopment agreement with Cambrin LLC before Panattoni Data Centers took over as developer in April 2026. The Town of Turtle board unanimously rejected a revised cost-reimbursement agreement with Panattoni on July 29, 2026 and began a 12-month moratorium process on large-scale development; Panattoni says it is reviewing the towns' actions to determine its path forward. Turtle's longtime town chair, whose vote had approved an earlier version of the agreement, faces a recall election on October 6, 2026.
How far is it from you?
Free. Every site we track within 25 miles of your address, nearest first, with how far each one is.
Follow this project
One free email when Project Cornmaze Data Center (Towns of Beloit and Turtle) changes status, a hearing is scheduled, or a comment deadline opens.
Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.
Buying or living near this site? Get the address report for $19.
- Status
- Filed
- Operator
- Panattoni Data Centers
- Applicant on record
- Panattoni Data Centers
- Location
- Rock County, WI (approximate, county seat)
- Size
- MW not reported, 430 acres
- Cooling
- Not reported
- Utility
- Alliant Energy
- First reported
- 2025-07
- Last updated
- September 21, 2026
What happens next
Still to come: public hearings, a rezoning or permit vote, and a utility interconnection agreement.
Sources
- Meta signs pre-development agreement for data center in Beloit, Wisconsin, Data Center Dynamics
- Citizens push back on possible data center in Town of Beloit, WUWM, 2026-06-04
- Town of Turtle board rejects data center cost reimbursement agreement, starts moratorium process, WIFR (Rockford News First), 2026-07-30
- Town of Turtle board calls recall election for longtime chairman Roger Anclam, Rockford News First, 2026-09-03
What it would mean nearby
Meta says the contract means other Alliant customers will not pay for the energy used by its Beaver Dam data center, though consumer advocates say the secrecy around the deal makes that hard for the public to independently verify. Alliant Energy (Wisconsin Power and Light) general rate case for 2026 and 2027 (docket 6680-UR-125) raised residential rates 5.4%, decided November 6, 2025: about $7 to $10 a month on a $160 bill. Transmission upgrades like this are typically billed to every electric customer in the state through transmission charges, not just to the data center that made the new line necessary, which is why the cost allocation question matters for ordinary bills even outside the four counties involved.
For how far this is from your own address, check it here. For what this site could mean for one street address, see the address report, $19.
Other tracked projects within 25 miles
Common questions
Where is the Project Cornmaze data center?
It is in Rock County, WI.
Has the Project Cornmaze data center been approved?
Not yet. An application has been filed and has not been decided.
How big is the Project Cornmaze data center?
Reported size: 430 acres.
Corrections and tips: use the address in the footer. We link every claim to its source.