Hearing: October 20, 2026
Wisconsin Rapids Data Center (former paper mill site)
PCH WI Holdings LLC. Filed
PCH WI Holdings LLC, connected to California based Performance Computing Holdings, is seeking a conditional use permit to build a data center on about 209 acres of the former paper mill property at 950 Fourth Avenue North, renovating an existing building and adding four new ones totaling about 1.2 million square feet. The Plan Commission voted 7-0 on September 16, 2026 to recommend denial, citing roughly 33 missing or incomplete elements in the application, and the matter still goes to the Common Council for a final vote on October 20, 2026. Wisconsin Rapids enacted a citywide 12 month data center moratorium effective October 9, 2026, but city officials have said the moratorium applies only to future applications and does not affect this already pending PCH proposal.
How far is it from you?
Free. Every site we track within 25 miles of your address, nearest first, with how far each one is.
Follow this project
One free email when Wisconsin Rapids Data Center (former paper mill site) changes status, a hearing is scheduled, or a comment deadline opens.
Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.
Buying or living near this site? Get the address report for $19.
- Status
- Filed
- Operator
- Not disclosed
- Applicant on record
- PCH WI Holdings LLC
- Location
- 950 4th Avenue North, Wisconsin Rapids, WI, Wood County, WI
- Size
- MW not reported, 209 acres, 1,200,000 sq ft
- Cooling
- Not reported
- Utility
- Not reported
- Next hearing
- October 20, 2026, Wisconsin Rapids Common Council
- First reported
- 2026-04
- Last updated
- October 12, 2026
What happens next
Still to come: public hearings, a rezoning or permit vote, and a utility interconnection agreement.
Sources
- In Wisconsin Rapids, data center objections include developers' Russian connections, Wisconsin Watch, 2026-08-28
- Data center talks in Wisconsin Rapids scheduled in May, The Daily Reporter, 2026-04-20
- Wisconsin Rapids Plan Commission rejects permit for data center, Wisconsin Radio Network (WSAU/WDEZ), 2026-09-16
- WI Rapids officially in data center moratorium after legal posting, Daily Tribune Media (via Yahoo News), 2026-10-09
- Wisconsin Rapids to draft data center moratorium; PNK proposal exempt, Daily Tribune Media (via Yahoo News)
What it would mean nearby
Transmission upgrades like this are typically billed to every electric customer in the state through transmission charges, not just to the data center that made the new line necessary, which is why the cost allocation question matters for ordinary bills even outside the four counties involved.
For how far this is from your own address, check it here. For what this site could mean for one street address, see the address report, $19.
History
Common questions
Where is the Wisconsin Rapids data center?
It is in Wisconsin Rapids, Wood County, WI.
Has the Wisconsin Rapids data center been approved?
Not yet. An application has been filed and has not been decided.
How big is the Wisconsin Rapids data center?
Reported size: 209 acres, 1,200,000 square feet.
When is the next public hearing?
October 20, 2026, Wisconsin Rapids Common Council.
Corrections and tips: use the address in the footer. We link every claim to its source.