Is a Data Center Coming

Sample report. This is a real report generated as a demonstration; the buyer email is hidden.

This is a real report for one address, the same report a buyer gets, unedited. Get one for your address: $19, one time, refunded if it is not useful.

Get the address report Local rules New findings Questions to ask

Address report

401 Main St, Byron, GA 31008

Prepared October 9, 2026 by Is a Data Center Coming

Closest data center site
1.3 miles north
Byron Boy Scout Camp Data Center, on hold
Data center sites within 25 miles
3
2 approved, 1 on hold. 1 proposal was denied or withdrawn.
Next date to watch
January 2027
Warner Robins six-month data center moratorium adopted July 20, 2026 would run to roughly January 20, 2027; the resolution text was not ret…

On the map

1
1.3 miles north On hold
2
17 miles east Approved
900 MW planned, a very large campus
3
24 miles north Approved
1120 MW planned, a very large campus
20 miles north Denied
No longer proposed. Shown as a small grey dot, not counted above.

MW (megawatts) is how much power a site can draw. It is the usual measure of a data center's size. Hollow markers are approximate locations of items from our research.

Local rules right now

JurisdictionWhat is in place
City of Byron, GARules adopted that restrict data centers. The council unanimously adopted a comprehensive data center ordinance on September 14, 2026 requiring noise limits, closed-loop cooling, compliance with state and federal environmental standards, and setbacks of at least 1,000 feet from schools, churches, and hospitals, after a moratorium that ran from January 2026 and was extended to September 15, 2026.
Peach County, GA (unincorporated)Not known. The research pass hit a technical limit before it could determine whether unincorporated Peach County has adopted a data center moratorium or ordinance, so no stance can be stated.
Crawford County, GARules being written or disputed. The Planning and Zoning Commission held repeated work sessions on a Data Center Ordinance through 2026, most recently a Data Center Ordinance Draft Review on September 14, 2026, with no adoption vote found in retrieved sources.
Warner Robins, GATemporary ban on new data centers. The city council unanimously approved a temporary six-month moratorium on July 20, 2026 pausing acceptance, processing, or issuing of new zoning applications, building permits, business licenses, or conditional use permits related to data centers.
Perry, GARules adopted that restrict data centers. Reporting notes that Perry introduced legislation in late 2024 that would allow data centers only by special exception.
Houston County, GANo data center rules. County leaders previously said they have no active plans for a data center and are gauging the effects, with no restriction described in retrieved reporting.
State of Georgia (Public Service Commission)Rules adopted that allow data centers. On December 19, 2025 the Commission certified 9,985 MW of new generation, roughly 80 percent intended to serve large load and data center growth, alongside Docket 44280 rules setting minimum billing and longer contract terms for customers with peak demand of 100 MW or greater.

Activity near this address

56 out of 100

The closest site is 1.3 miles away and on hold, two large projects are planned within 25 miles, local news and filings have been frequent in the last six months, and your city has rules that restrict data centers.

Dates to watch

  • January 2027
    Warner Robins six-month data center moratorium adopted July 20, 2026 would run to roughly January 20, 2027; the resolution text was not retrieved, so verify the exact expiry with the city clerk.
  • Ongoing
    Byron versus Crawford County court proceedings over annexation of the Boy Scout Road property. Arbitration ended without resolution and no court hearing date was reported.
  • Ongoing
    Crawford County Planning and Zoning Commission Data Center Ordinance drafting. Work sessions ran through September 14, 2026 with no adoption vote retrieved.
  • Ongoing
    Whether unincorporated Peach County adopts its own data center moratorium or ordinance. This question was not resolved in the research pass.

Summary

This address sits inside the Byron Municipal Complex, which is also where the city's data center decisions get made. The nearest proposed project, the old Boy Scout camp site on Boy Scout Road about 1.3 miles north, is still unresolved: no formal application has been filed, state-mandated arbitration between Byron and Crawford County ended without resolution, and the annexation fight is now in court. Early open records showed a developer, Beltline Energy, discussing a 200 to 300 megawatt facility there. On September 14, 2026 the Byron City Council unanimously adopted a data center ordinance with noise caps, closed-loop cooling, and setbacks of at least 1,000 feet from schools, churches, and hospitals, and a Planning and Zoning meeting on October 13, 2026 at this very building will take up more data center zoning drafts plus another moratorium resolution. Separately, Flint Energies raised its residential energy rate effective April 1, 2026, and Peach County is actively marketing a 1,500-acre megasite on Highway 96. Nothing here is decided, and a buyer should read the adopted ordinance text and watch the October 13 agenda.

How each nearby site could affect this address

Byron Boy Scout Camp Data Center

Where. Byron Boy Scout Camp Data Center, 1.3 miles north of this address. On hold. Size not reported.

Noise at this address. Roughly 43 dBA at this address on a still night, an estimate that assumes a 100 MW site because its size is not reported: Near the WHO 40 dBA night guideline. Faintly audible outdoors on still nights, usually lost in daytime background noise.

Power and your bill. The utility that would serve this site has not been reported. Whoever it is, the cost of serving it lands on that utility's own customers.

What happens next. This project is on hold. Something would have to change before work could restart, such as a vote, a permit, a legal ruling, or a power agreement. The findings in this report cover what is known about why. The reviewing body on record is Byron City Council and Crawford County Board of Commissioners.

Pine Ridge Technology Park

Where. Pine Ridge Technology Park, 17 miles east of this address. Approved. 900 MW planned, a very large campus.

Noise at this address. At this distance the site's cooling equipment would not be audible at this address.

Power and your bill. The utility that would serve this site has not been reported. Whoever it is, the cost of serving it lands on that utility's own customers.

What happens next. Permits and site work come next. Builders do not always announce a construction start date in advance.

Rumble Technology Park

Where. Rumble Technology Park, 24 miles north of this address. Approved. 1120 MW planned, a very large campus.

Noise at this address. At this distance the site's cooling equipment would not be audible at this address.

Power and your bill. It is expected to be served by Georgia Power, and the cost of serving it lands on Georgia Power's customers, not necessarily yours.

What happens next. Permits and site work come next. Builders do not always announce a construction start date in advance.

Every figure here is an estimate from a simple public model, the same one described in our methodology. No one can predict property values.

New findings from fresh research

Byron adopted a citywide data center ordinance on September 14, 2026 reported
City of Byron, Peach County, GA ~0.1 mi 2026-09-14

The Byron City Council voted unanimously to adopt a comprehensive data center ordinance after months of public forums. The adopted rules require data centers to maintain certain noise levels, set buildings back at least 1,000 feet from schools, churches, and hospitals, require closed-loop cooling systems, and require compliance with state and federal environmental standards. An earlier draft reported in August also specified a 500 foot separation from residential property and a cap of 75 decibels over any 30 minutes from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Reporting noted the ordinance does not guarantee a data center will be built and does not by itself stop a company from developing. A Peach County High School student who followed the process argued the noise limit was still too loose.

Sources: Byron city council unanimously adopts data center ordinance after months of review, Byron officials present data center ordinance proposal amidst community pushback

October 13, 2026 Byron Planning and Zoning meeting on more data center ordinances, held at this address filed
Byron Municipal Complex, 401 Main Street, Byron, GA ~0 mi 2026-10-09

The City of Byron has posted a Planning and Zoning Commission meeting for October 13, 2026 at 5:00 p.m. with items including a Data Center Moratorium Resolution, Draft Ordinance 2026-9 on Data Center Regulations Section 4(a), Draft Ordinance 2026-7 on Data Centers in the I-1 District, and Ordinance 2026-6 on Data Centers in the A-1 District. The meeting location is the Byron Municipal Complex at 401 Main Street, the subject address. The agenda packet itself was not retrieved, so whether the resolution extends, replaces, or sunsets the earlier pause is unknown.

Sources: City of Byron Planning & Zoning

Boy Scout Road site: Beltline Energy discussed a 200 to 300 megawatt data center reported
Boy Scout Road, Peach and Crawford county line, north of Byron ~1.3 mi 2026-04-10

Open records requests filed by citizens uncovered early discussions between county officials and Beltline Energy, a company eyeing the former Boy Scout camp site for a data center projected to draw between 200 and 300 megawatts of power. Documents showed county officials, including the county manager, commission chair, and planning administrator, engaged with Beltline as early as October 2024. Crawford County has maintained that no formal application was ever filed. This is a developer estimate reported in news coverage, not a filed interconnection figure, and the tracked record for this site currently lists no megawatt number and names only Land Holding Company LLC.

Sources: 'Nobody was told': Byron, Crawford County head to arbitration over land tied to potential data center

Byron and Crawford arbitration ended without resolution; annexation fight moved to court reported
Byron and Crawford County line, Peach County, GA ~1.3 mi 2026-09-14

As of mid-September 2026, Byron and Crawford County were engaged in court proceedings over whether Byron can annex the Boy Scout Road property. Mayor Michael Chidester told 13WMAZ that the state-mandated arbitration on the annexation dispute ended without resolution. The tracked record for the Byron Boy Scout Camp site still describes the dispute as in arbitration and was last updated April 1, 2026, so that status is out of date. No court ruling or hearing date was reported in the sources reviewed, and the same report noted the property sold in 2024.

Sources: Byron city council unanimously adopts data center ordinance after months of review

Disputed tract described as roughly 500 acres with a 2017 Boy Scouts covenant behind the annexation claim reported
2251 Boy Scout Road, Peach and Crawford counties, GA ~1.3 mi 2026-04-10

The disputed tract was reported as roughly 500 acres along Boy Scout Road straddling Crawford and Peach counties. Byron sought to annex the roughly 250-acre Crawford County portion under a covenant signed in 2017 with the Boy Scouts of America, and Crawford County opposed. The dispute escalated to state-mandated arbitration with public money funding legal work on both sides. Reporting tied the land to early discussions with Beltline Energy about a data center project and noted neither government would officially confirm the project. One local real estate blog referred to the property as the 489.39-acre Historic Camp Benjamin Hawkins at 2251 Boy Scout Road and used the name ErgonX Industrial Park, a name that appeared in only one outlet and should be treated as unconfirmed.

Sources: 'Nobody was told': Byron, Crawford County head to arbitration over land tied to potential data center, City of Byron holds town hall to discuss data center ordinance

Byron moratorium timeline: adopted January 2026, extended from July 31 to September 15, 2026 reported
City of Byron, Peach County, GA ~0.1 mi 2026-08-11

Byron's city council placed a temporary moratorium on new data centers in January 2026, citing rapid growth and outdated zoning ordinances, with existing permitted projects not affected. As of late June 2026 the moratorium was in effect until July 31, 2026, and the mayor said at that time there was no formally proposed data center in Byron but that the property owner was planning something. Later coverage showed the deadline was pushed from July 31, 2026 to September 15, 2026 while the ordinance was finalized. The moratorium was superseded by adoption of the data center ordinance on September 14, 2026. A further moratorium resolution is on the October 13, 2026 Planning and Zoning agenda.

Sources: Peach, Crawford residents meet to discuss potential data center ordinance with Byron council, City of Byron holds town hall to discuss data center ordinance

Organized resident opposition to a data center at the Boy Scout camp reported
Byron, Peach and Crawford counties, GA ~1.3 mi 2026-08-25

Residents of Peach and Crawford counties spoke at a packed Byron council meeting on August 10, 2026 about a potential data center off Boy Scout Road, and an updated ordinance presentation on August 24, 2026 drew Georgia Power officials, data center stakeholders, and residents opposed. A public input town hall was held at the Byron Auditorium on June 24, 2026. A Change.org petition titled 'Protect the old Boy Scout camp from being replaced by a data center' lists Byron and Crawford County meeting schedules and directs residents to attend. The petition is evidence of opposition activity only, not of any project fact. Mayor Michael Chidester has described the prospect in favorable terms as low impact, low sound, and high quality business.

Sources: Peach, Crawford residents meet to discuss potential data center ordinance with Byron council, Byron officials present data center ordinance proposal amidst community pushback, Petition: Protect the old Boy Scout camp from being replaced by a data center

Crawford County spent all of 2026 drafting a data center ordinance filed
Crawford County Annex, 640 GA Hwy 128, Roberta, GA ~13 mi 2026-09-14

The Crawford County Planning and Zoning Commission held a long series of posted work sessions specifically on a Data Center Ordinance at the Crawford County Annex in Roberta, including February 3 and 10, March 10 and 24, May 6 and 13, July 21, and July 30, 2026, with a September 14, 2026 session carrying the agenda item 'Data Center Ordinance Draft Review.' All of these meetings have already happened. Minutes, a recommendation, and any adoption vote were not retrieved, so the outcome of the Crawford County process is not known from these sources. The Crawford County Planning and Zoning Office can be reached at 478-836-3199.

Sources: NOTICE: Planning & Zoning Commission Work Session 9/14/2026, NOTICE: P&Z Commission Work Sessions 2/3/2026 & 2/10/2026, NOTICE: Planning & Zoning Commission Work Session 7/21/2026, NOTICE: Planning & Zoning Commission Work Session 7/30/2026

Peach County approved a 190-acre industrial rezoning on Highway 96 reported
Unincorporated Peach County, off Highway 96, Fort Valley mailing address2026-06-09

The Peach County Board of Commissioners voted 4-1 on June 9, 2026 to rezone a 190-acre property off Highway 96 from R-AG Agricultural Residential District for a planned warehouse and distribution center. Vice-Chairwoman Betty Hill voted in opposition. Several nearby residents spoke against the rezoning at the public hearing, citing traffic congestion and noise pollution. This is described as a warehouse and distribution center, not a data center, and the applicant entity, parcel numbers, and conditions of approval were not retrieved.

Sources: Peach Commissioners approve rezoning for proposed distribution center

Peach County 1,500-acre Highway 96 megasite now marketed by a three-county authority reported
Highway 96 corridor, Peach County, GA2026-07-23

A 1,500-acre publicly owned industrial megasite off Highway 96 in Peach County is the subject of a joint development authority uniting Peach, Bibb, and Houston counties to guide recruitment, infrastructure planning, and investment. The site is owned by the county and the state and was purchased in 2022 with a $20 million OneGeorgia Regional Economic Business Assistance grant. By late July 2026 marketing and the future sale had advanced, with all three counties pledging $250,000 toward a first-year spending plan and Macon-Bibb and Houston each agreeing to repay Peach County $413,000 for prior work. The site was selected for its size and its location near rail lines and Interstate 75. No retrieved source ties the megasite to a data center user; this is site readiness, not a data center proposal.

Sources: Central Georgia counties propose joint development authority for mega site project, Bibb joins Peach, Houston to buy Hwy. 96 megasite

Warner Robins adopted a six-month data center moratorium reported
Warner Robins, Houston County, GA ~14 mi 2026-07-23

The Warner Robins City Council unanimously approved a temporary six-month moratorium on data centers at its July 20, 2026 meeting. Per council documents, it pauses acceptance, processing, or issuing of new applications for zoning, building permits, business licenses, or conditional use permits related to constructing, establishing, or expanding a data center. The move followed resident concerns about AI and resource use. A six-month pause adopted July 20, 2026 would run to roughly January 20, 2027, but the resolution text was not retrieved so the exact expiry should be verified. The same report noted Perry introduced legislation in late 2024 that would allow data centers only by special exception, and that Houston County leaders previously said they have no active plans for a data center.

Sources: Warner Robins Council approves data center moratorium for six months

Flint Energies raised its residential energy rate effective April 1, 2026 reported
Flint Energies service territory, including Peach County ~0 mi 2026-02-03

Flint Energies, the cooperative serving this address, announced on February 3, 2026 that several rate changes would take effect April 1, 2026 following an in-depth cost of service study. The residential energy rate rose from 10.55 to 11.05 cents per kilowatt-hour, the cooperative's first residential energy rate increase in almost a decade, and the monthly base charge also increased. The Board lowered the Wholesale Power Cost Adjustment for 2026 to help offset the change, so most members saw a net bill decrease. EMC rates are set by the cooperative's board, not the Public Service Commission.

Sources: Flint Energies announces new rate changes starting April 1, Flint Energies Announces April 1 Rate Changes

Georgia PSC certified 9,985 MW of new generation tied largely to large load growth filed
Statewide Georgia Power territory2025-12-19

On December 19, 2025 the Georgia Public Service Commission voted to approve an agreement between the Commission's Public Interest Advocacy Staff and Georgia Power certifying the construction of 9,985 MW of new energy generation, approximately 80 percent of which is intended to serve large load and data center growth statewide. Georgia Power was also approved to amend existing rules to set minimum billing requirements and longer contract terms for customers with expected peak demands of 100 MW or greater, with conditions on transmission cost responsibility, under Docket No. 44280. This is a completed regulatory action, not a pending hearing. It applies to Georgia Power territory, which covers the already-tracked Pine Ridge and Rumble sites, not to this address's Flint Energies service.

Sources: Large Load Projects and Tariffs (September 2026)

New Flint Energies substation in Kathleen attributed to general growth reported
Kathleen, Houston County, GA ~14 mi 2026-03

A new Flint Energies substation in Houston County near Kathleen is up and running, built to deliver power faster and more reliably. Flint Energies vice president Marian McLemore said growth is the main reason for the development, citing a jump of over 20 percent in the customer base since 2016, and a companion station in north Houston County was noted as in progress. Coverage attributes the substation to general residential and commercial growth, not to any named industrial or data center customer, so it should not be characterized as data center driven.

Sources: New Flint Energies substation built to keep up with Houston County growth, Flint Energies builds new substation in Houston County as growth continues

Beltline Energy withdrew a comparable 500-acre proposal in Missouri reported
Pacific, Missouri (out of area, context only)2026-08

A trade publication reported that Beltline Energy, the company tied to early discussions about the Boy Scout Road site, withdrew a similarly sized data center proposal in Pacific, Missouri in August 2026. That proposal called for rezoning of a 500-acre property. This is out of state and does not describe any change to the Byron site, but it is background on the same prospective tenant's track record.

Sources: Beltline Energy withdraws data center proposal in Pacific, Missouri

Every tracked site within 25 miles

NameOperatorStatusMWDistanceNext hearingComment deadline
Byron Boy Scout Camp Data Center Land Holding Company LLC On hold 1.3 mi N
Pine Ridge Technology Park Eagle Rock Partners LLC Approved 900 17 mi E
Rumble Technology Park Cloverleaf Infrastructure Approved 1120 24 mi N

Your power bill

Utility: Flint Energies

Oglethorpe Power, which generates most of the electricity Georgia's EMCs sell, is adding natural gas plants it ties to data center and industrial load. EMC rates are set by each cooperative's board, not the Public Service Commission, so watch your EMC's rate notices.

Noise and water near this address

Byron Boy Scout Camp Data Center, 1.3 mi: roughly 43 dBA (Faint). Near the WHO 40 dBA night guideline. Faintly audible outdoors on still nights, usually lost in daytime background noise.

Dates to watch

  • January 2027 Warner Robins six-month data center moratorium adopted July 20, 2026 would run to roughly January 20, 2027; the resolution text was not retrieved, so verify the exact expiry with the city clerk.
  • Ongoing Byron versus Crawford County court proceedings over annexation of the Boy Scout Road property. Arbitration ended without resolution and no court hearing date was reported.
  • Ongoing Crawford County Planning and Zoning Commission Data Center Ordinance drafting. Work sessions ran through September 14, 2026 with no adoption vote retrieved.
  • Ongoing Whether unincorporated Peach County adopts its own data center moratorium or ordinance. This question was not resolved in the research pass.
  • Ongoing Marketing and any announced user for the 1,500-acre Highway 96 megasite owned by Peach County and the state.
  • Ongoing Flint Energies rate notices. EMC rates are set by the cooperative board, not the Public Service Commission, so changes arrive by board action rather than a regulatory docket.

Questions to ask

  • To the listing agent: has the seller received any notice of annexation, rezoning, or site plan filings for the Boy Scout Road tract about 1.3 miles north, and is the property inside any notification radius for city hearings?
  • To the City of Byron Planning and Zoning Office: can I get the adopted text of Ordinance 2026-5 and the September 14, 2026 council minutes, and does the 500 foot residential setback measure from the property line or the building?
  • To the City of Byron: what is in the October 13, 2026 Planning and Zoning packet, specifically the Data Center Moratorium Resolution and Draft Ordinances 2026-6, 2026-7, and 2026-9, and would any of those districts apply near this address?
  • To the City of Byron: has any annexation application, zoning application, or site plan been filed for the Boy Scout Road tract since September 14, 2026, and what is the current posture of the Byron versus Crawford County annexation case?
  • To the Crawford County Planning and Zoning Office at 478-836-3199: what is the current Data Center Ordinance draft text, and did the September 14, 2026 work session produce a recommendation to the commissioners?
  • To the Peach County Planning office: does unincorporated Peach County have its own data center moratorium or ordinance, and can I see the June 9, 2026 rezoning file for the 190-acre Highway 96 tract including the applicant entity and conditions of approval?
  • To Flint Energies: has the cooperative received any large load or will-serve request for a site in Peach or Crawford County, and what is the board's next scheduled rate review?
  • To the Development Authority of Peach County: what is the formation status of the Peach, Bibb, and Houston joint authority, and have any Development of Regional Impact filings been submitted for the Highway 96 corridor?

Stopped or withdrawn nearby

Bolingbroke Technology Center (denied, 20 mi N)

Method and limits

This report reflects public records, government postings, and news coverage available as of October 9, 2026. It is not legal, real estate, or financial advice, and it does not predict whether any project will be built. The absence of a finding is not proof that nothing is coming; new applications, land deals, and utility requests can surface at any time. Two specific gaps should be noted plainly. In the proposed data centers and rezoning focus area, the search pass was cut short by a technical limit before the question of whether unincorporated Peach County has adopted its own data center moratorium or ordinance could be answered, so that jurisdiction was not fully checked rather than checked and found clean. In the recent local news focus area, the search budget was also exhausted before completion. In addition, several key documents were never retrieved, including the October 13, 2026 Planning and Zoning packet, the adopted text of Byron Ordinance 2026-5, the Crawford County draft ordinance, the Peach County June 9, 2026 rezoning file, and the Warner Robins moratorium resolution. No confirmed megawatt figure, cooling type, water demand, or utility service commitment exists in any retrieved source for the Boy Scout Road tract; the 200 to 300 megawatt figure comes from news reporting on early discussions, not a filed interconnection request. One third-party project aggregator was reviewed and should not be relied on alone for any factual claim about operator or capacity.

Research is carried out with AI-assisted web search and reviewed by a person before delivery.

Sources

This is a real report for one address, the same report a buyer gets, unedited. Get one for your address: $19, one time, refunded if it is not useful.

Get the address report