Is a Data Center Coming

Georgia

Data centers in Butts County

We track 2 projects inside Butts County and 10 more within 25 miles of it. For a distance-specific answer, check your own address.

In Butts County

Filed 69 MW Jackson

The first announced building of AWS's data center expansion in Butts County, part of an $11 billion combined investment across Butts and Douglas counties announced in January 2025. AWS has leased roughly 543 acres in Butts County; this first building is reported at 69 megawatts and about 230,000 square feet, targeted to open in 2027. Amazon has not disclosed the exact site address.

River Park (Highway 16) Operator not disclosed
Filed MW not reported Jackson

A roughly 10 billion dollar mixed development called River Park proposed on land near Highway 16 and Interstate 75 owned by Bill Jones, father of Lt. Gov. Burt Jones. Plans call for a 450,000 square foot hospital, 1.2 million square feet of medical office space, and about 11 million square feet of data centers, which would be among the largest data center footprints proposed in Georgia. A Development of Regional Impact filing was submitted to the state, the project is projected to use over 4.5 million gallons of water a day (more than tripling the county's current usage), and it would not be complete until around 2040 if built as planned.

Within 25 miles of Butts County

Power bills in Butts County

Most of the county is served by Central Georgia EMC, with parts on Snapping Shoals EMC or Jackson municipal (city owned) or Georgia Power. The city of Jackson, the county seat, has its own municipal utility. As a cooperative, its wholesale power comes mostly from Oglethorpe Power.

Oglethorpe Power, which generates most of the electricity Georgia's EMCs sell, is adding natural gas plants it ties to data center and industrial load. EMC rates are set by each cooperative's board, not the Public Service Commission, so watch your EMC's rate notices.

Oglethorpe Power is the wholesale generation and transmission cooperative owned by Georgia's 38 electric membership cooperatives, and it is not directly rate regulated by the Georgia Public Service Commission the way Georgia Power is, so there is no PSC docket number for its generation projects. Oglethorpe Power broke ground on May 7, 2026 on a two unit, roughly 1,425 megawatt, 3.3 billion dollar combined cycle gas plant next to its existing Smarr Energy Facility in Monroe County, targeting commercial operation around 2029 to serve 29 of its 38 member cooperatives, plus a smaller gas addition planned at the Talbot Energy Facility for 2028. No specific verified dollar impact on individual electric membership cooperative household bills has been published yet, since those retail rates are set separately by each member cooperative.

Every Georgia rate case in dollars a month, with hearing dates: willmybillgoup.com, our rate case tracker.

Alerts for Butts County

An email when a filing, hearing, or status changes within 25 miles of the county seat. For a tighter radius, check your own address and subscribe there.

Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.

Want this worked out for one address? The address report covers noise, water, your power bill, and what is being planned nearby. See the address report.