Is a Data Center Coming

Illinois

Data centers in DeKalb County

We track 3 projects inside DeKalb County and 4 more within 25 miles of it. For a distance-specific answer, check your own address.

In DeKalb County

Approved MW not reported DeKalb

Edged, a subsidiary of Endeavour Energy, proposed a four building, two substation data center campus on 560 acres on both sides of Illinois Route 23, north of Keslinger Road and just south of Meta's existing DeKalb data center. The DeKalb City Council approved the project unanimously on December 8, 2025, less than a month after it became public, with buildings phased in from 2027 through 2032.

Karis DeKalb Campus Karis Acquisitions
Approved MW not reported DeKalb

Karis Acquisitions, a subsidiary of Karis Capital, proposed seven two story data center buildings totaling about 1.75 million square feet on 132 acres near Peace and Guler roads in DeKalb, close to Meta's existing campus. The DeKalb Planning and Zoning Commission voted unanimously to approve the concept plan on July 15, 2024, with final approval granted July 22, 2024; ComEd was expected to build a 20 acre substation to serve the site and the surrounding area.

Operating MW not reported

An operating Meta Platforms data center site in DeKalb County, IL, mapped in OpenStreetMap and the IM3 Open Source Data Center Atlas. 3 buildings totaling about 1,457,000 square feet are mapped.

Within 25 miles of DeKalb County

Power bills in DeKalb County

Most of the county is served by ComEd.

This case does not change what a household pays today, but it is the main tool Illinois regulators are using to try to stop the cost of new grid equipment for data centers from landing on residential bills. ComEd annual reconciliation rate case (docket 25-0383) adds about $3.10 a month to a typical bill from January 2026. PJM capacity auction price spike hits ComEd supply charges adds about $10.50 a month to a typical bill from June 2025.

Under an Illinois law that lets ComEd true up its grid plan spending every year, the utility asked to recover 268.5 million dollars in a reconciliation case. The Illinois Commerce Commission approved 243.1 million dollars on December 18, 2025, cutting about 25.4 million dollars including costs tied to a mismanaged customer billing system rollout. Citizens Utility Board estimated the approved amount adds about 3.10 dollars a month to a typical residential bill starting in 2026.

Every Illinois rate case in dollars a month, with hearing dates: willmybillgoup.com, our rate case tracker.

Alerts for DeKalb County

An email when a filing, hearing, or status changes within 25 miles of the county seat. For a tighter radius, check your own address and subscribe there.

Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.

Want this worked out for one address? The address report covers noise, water, your power bill, and what is being planned nearby. See the address report.