Added as filed
Kingston Technology Hub
Thor Acquisition. Filed. 150 MW.
Thor Acquisition, an affiliate of New York based Thor Equities, filed a Development of Regional Impact application with the Georgia Department of Community Affairs on September 4, 2026 for a data center project near Kingston in Bartow County, off Highway 411 near the Hyundai-SK battery plant. The filing describes roughly 559 acres, a 350,000 square foot building, about 150 megawatts of capacity, and an estimated 1 billion dollars in investment, with the developer saying it intends to pursue power supply through a regional utility RFP process. The project still needs rezoning and other local approvals, and no hearing date has been set.
Follow this project
One email when Kingston Technology Hub changes status or a new filing lands within 25 miles of it.
Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.
- Status
- Filed
- Operator
- Not disclosed
- Applicant on record
- Thor Acquisition
- Location
- Near Highway 411, Kingston, Bartow County, GA (approximate, city center)
- Size
- 150 MW, 559 acres, 350,000 sq ft
- Cooling
- Not reported
- Utility
- Not reported
- First reported
- 2026-09
- Last updated
- September 14, 2026
Sources
- $1 billion data center proposed for the Kingston area, WRGA (Local News Now), 2026-09-08
- Proposed $1 Billion Data Center Planned for Kingston Area in Bartow County, Coosa Valley News, 2026-09-08
- Another large data center proposed in Georgia, The Center Square, 2026-09-08
What it would mean nearby
The cooling design has not been reported. If it uses evaporative cooling, a 150 MW facility would draw roughly 476,000 to 1.7 million gallons of water a day, about what 5,500 households use.
Base rate freeze through 2028 (docket 44280) holds base rates flat from July 2025. Fuel and storm riders are separate and can still move. 2026 fuel and storm cost settlement (docket 44280, 56765) takes about $4.04 a month off a typical bill from June 2026. The December 2025 certification of about 9,885 MW of new generation for data center load came with a promise of at least $8.50 a month of downward pressure on a typical bill in 2029 through 2031, because large customers are meant to carry more of the cost. Consumer groups warned it could instead add around $20 a month if the projected data center demand does not show up.
For a noise estimate and the three distance rings, check your own address.
History
Other tracked projects within 25 miles
Is it near you?
Corrections and tips: use the address in the footer. We link every claim to its source.