Is a Data Center Coming

Bartow County, GA

Project Springbank

Atlas Development. Withdrawn. 432 MW.

A proposed $4.5 billion, six building data center campus (about 379,000 square feet and roughly 72 megawatts per building) on 630 acres off Barnsley Gardens Road near the Barnsley Resort, close to Adairsville. Barnsley Resort's owners and more than 2,000 petition signers opposed the project, and the Bartow County Planning Commission voted 6-1 to recommend denial in April 2025. Applicant Atlas Development withdrew the rezoning application on May 13, 2025 rather than face a denial vote, and under county rules cannot resubmit an identical application for six months.

Status
Withdrawn
Operator
Not disclosed
Applicant on record
Atlas Development
Location
Barnsley Gardens Road, near Adairsville and the Barnsley Resort, Bartow County, GA
Size
432 MW, 630 acres, 2,274,000 sq ft
Cooling
Closed loop (low water)
Utility
Georgia Power
First reported
2025-02
Last updated
May 14, 2025

What happens next

This proposal will not move forward as filed, but the land it was proposed on can be proposed again under a new project. See other stopped projects.

Sources

What it would mean nearby

Base rate freeze through 2028 (docket 44280) holds base rates flat from July 2025. Fuel and storm riders are separate and can still move. Real-time pricing revenue credit and cost allocation review (docket 57171) is pending before the commission without a published residential figure yet. 2026 fuel and storm cost settlement (docket 44280, 56765) takes about $4.04 a month off a typical bill from June 2026.

For how far this is from your own address, check it here. For a noise, water, and power bill estimate for one address, see the address report.

Other tracked projects within 25 miles

Project Indo Operator not disclosed
12 mi SEFiled 2000 MW Bartow County, GA

Common questions

Where is the Project Springbank data center?

It is in Adairsville, Bartow County, GA.

Has the Project Springbank data center been approved?

No. The developer withdrew the proposal.

How big is the Project Springbank data center?

Reported size: 432 MW, 630 acres, 2,274,000 square feet.

Is it near you?

Corrections and tips: use the address in the footer. We link every claim to its source.