Is a Data Center Coming

Georgia

Data centers in Henry County

We track 3 projects inside Henry County and 15 more within 25 miles of it. For a distance-specific answer, check your own address.

In Henry County

Henderson Farms Data Center Southeast Property Holdings, LLC
Approved MW not reported Hampton

The first approved data center in Henry County: three buildings of about 195,000 square feet each (585,000 square feet total) plus an electrical substation, on 133 acres north of Georgia 20 at McDonough Street in Hampton, part of the Henderson Farms development. The Hampton City Council approved a conditional use permit 5-0 on March 25, 2025, with conditions on buffers, landscaping, green roofs and water conservation; a certificate of occupancy cannot be issued until at least 100 residential units in the surrounding development are built.

Rocky Creek Road Data Center 0 Rocky Creek Road, LLC
Filed MW not reported McDonough

A proposed 148.2 acre, 1.2 million square foot data center with an on-site substation south of Highway 20 West and east of Rocky Creek Road in unincorporated Henry County, filed by an entity called 0 Rocky Creek Road LLC of Wilmington, Delaware. The Henry County Zoning Advisory Board recommended approval in November 2024, but the Board of Commissioners postponed its final vote into 2025. Public reporting found by this research does not confirm a final commission decision.

Strickland Road Farm Data Center Strickland Road Farms, LLC
Filed MW not reported McDonough

A proposed 249.8 acre, 1.25 million square foot data center with an on-site substation east of Simpson Mill Road and north of Walker Drive in unincorporated Henry County. The Henry County Zoning Advisory Board recommended denial in November 2024, citing proximity to homes, and the Board of Commissioners postponed a final vote into 2025. Public reporting found by this research does not confirm a final commission decision, so this project is listed as still on the public record pending resolution.

Within 25 miles of Henry County

Project Peach North Coweta Investors
23 mi WApproved 700 MW Coweta County, GA

Power bills in Henry County

Most of the county is served by Snapping Shoals EMC, with parts on Georgia Power or Central Georgia EMC. Snapping Shoals EMC describes serving large portions of Henry County, but Georgia Power also has a substantial presence given how suburbanized the county is. As a cooperative, its wholesale power comes mostly from Oglethorpe Power.

Oglethorpe Power, which generates most of the electricity Georgia's EMCs sell, is adding natural gas plants it ties to data center and industrial load. EMC rates are set by each cooperative's board, not the Public Service Commission, so watch your EMC's rate notices.

Oglethorpe Power is the wholesale generation and transmission cooperative owned by Georgia's 38 electric membership cooperatives, and it is not directly rate regulated by the Georgia Public Service Commission the way Georgia Power is, so there is no PSC docket number for its generation projects. Oglethorpe Power broke ground on May 7, 2026 on a two unit, roughly 1,425 megawatt, 3.3 billion dollar combined cycle gas plant next to its existing Smarr Energy Facility in Monroe County, targeting commercial operation around 2029 to serve 29 of its 38 member cooperatives, plus a smaller gas addition planned at the Talbot Energy Facility for 2028. No specific verified dollar impact on individual electric membership cooperative household bills has been published yet, since those retail rates are set separately by each member cooperative.

Every Georgia rate case in dollars a month, with hearing dates: willmybillgoup.com, our rate case tracker.

Alerts for Henry County

An email when a filing, hearing, or status changes within 25 miles of the county seat. For a tighter radius, check your own address and subscribe there.

Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.

Want this worked out for one address? The address report covers noise, water, your power bill, and what is being planned nearby. See the address report.