Is a Data Center Coming

Georgia

Data centers in Fayette County

We track 2 projects inside Fayette County and 28 more within 25 miles of it. For a distance-specific answer, check your own address.

In Fayette County

Under construction MW not reported Fayetteville

QTS is building what has been called one of the world's largest data center campuses on 615 acres at 1435 Highway 54 West in Fayetteville, planned for up to 16 buildings totaling about 6.6 million square feet of data center space plus a 400,000 square foot office building, with more than 1 billion dollars in planned investment. Construction began in 2023, and by March 2026 the campus included about 13 buildings totaling roughly 6.2 million square feet, with full buildout expected by 2032. In 2025 county officials found QTS had drawn nearly 30 million gallons of water from the county system over about 15 months without paying, and it was later retroactively billed about 150,000 dollars.

CHI / Crow Holdings Data Center (Fayette Pavilion area) CHI/Acquisitions, LP and Crow Holdings Development
Withdrawn MW not reported Fayetteville

Crow Holdings Development and CHI Acquisitions proposed a single two story, 300,000 square foot data center building with a substation on a 37.4 acre site along Highway 85 North near the Fayette Pavilion shopping center in Fayetteville. The Planning and Zoning Commission denied the site plan on January 27, 2026, and after filing an appeal, the developers withdrew it on March 18, 2026, the day before the scheduled City Council hearing, ending the project. Fayetteville has since banned new data centers citywide.

Within 25 miles of Fayette County

Project Peach North Coweta Investors
8.7 mi WApproved 700 MW Coweta County, GA
CenturyLink Operator not disclosed
22 mi NOperatingFulton County, GA
Project Sail Prologis
24 mi WApproved 900 MW Coweta County, GA

Power bills in Fayette County

Most of the county is served by Coweta-Fayette EMC, with parts on Georgia Power or GreyStone Power or Central Georgia EMC. As a cooperative, its wholesale power comes mostly from Oglethorpe Power.

Oglethorpe Power, which generates most of the electricity Georgia's EMCs sell, is adding natural gas plants it ties to data center and industrial load. EMC rates are set by each cooperative's board, not the Public Service Commission, so watch your EMC's rate notices.

Oglethorpe Power is the wholesale generation and transmission cooperative owned by Georgia's 38 electric membership cooperatives, and it is not directly rate regulated by the Georgia Public Service Commission the way Georgia Power is, so there is no PSC docket number for its generation projects. Oglethorpe Power broke ground on May 7, 2026 on a two unit, roughly 1,425 megawatt, 3.3 billion dollar combined cycle gas plant next to its existing Smarr Energy Facility in Monroe County, targeting commercial operation around 2029 to serve 29 of its 38 member cooperatives, plus a smaller gas addition planned at the Talbot Energy Facility for 2028. No specific verified dollar impact on individual electric membership cooperative household bills has been published yet, since those retail rates are set separately by each member cooperative.

Every Georgia rate case in dollars a month, with hearing dates: willmybillgoup.com, our rate case tracker.

Alerts for Fayette County

An email when a filing, hearing, or status changes within 25 miles of the county seat. For a tighter radius, check your own address and subscribe there.

Unsubscribe with one click. We do not sell the list.

Want this worked out for one address? The address report covers noise, water, your power bill, and what is being planned nearby. See the address report.